Artist Statement. OLD video (fixed)

I decided on ‘old’ as a topic, because the realization hits me in the face on a daily basis. I wanted to show a warts-and-all portrayal of a man who may or may not be going through a midlife crisis, and spends many hours of the day around those younger than him. I also came into this project with some trepidation as all of my classmates are half my age. Up until this point there was usually someone in a class with nearly the same life experience, but this semester has been unique. I began with waking up, and my daily routine, only now it’s got a few added wrinkles (just like myself). The real topper was having to get reading glasses this year, after spending my whole life bragging about my perfect vision. I decided on the still images, making sure they were highly detailed. I chose to do this with no assistance, and the project kept evolving daily, opening itself to new possibilities. I had to sadly reign it in, or it would have completely gotten away from me. I am not going to make high-minded art references or avant-garde name drops, because I did my own research..living in this body for 43 years.

Leave a comment